About the NCCIA



Leadership team


The initial organizational meeting of the Computer Instruction Association was held on Friday, April, 22, 1994, at the Holiday Inn Conference Center in Burlington, North Carolina. Carol Jones, Isothermal Community College, presided over the first business session where two important details were unanimously approved.
  1. Danny Scruggs, Cleveland Community College, motioned and was seconded by Glen Davis, Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College to establish the Computer Instruction Association.
  2. Barbara Smith, Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College, motioned and was seconded by Frances Haney, Isothermal Community College to elect the Leadership Team (listed below)

Carol Jones, President
Isothermal Community College

Kenneth Wallace, 1st Vice President
Craven Community College

David Harris, 2nd Vice President
Carteret Community College

Chris Koon, Secretary
Isothermal Community College

Danny Scruggs, Treasurer
Cleveland Community College

Robert Hudson, Curriculum Project Leader
Craven Community College

Sandy Hagman, Internet Project Leader
Forsyth Technical Community College

Ed Thomas, Multimedia Project Leader
Stanly Community College

Dianne Boseman, Networking Project Leader
Nash Community College

At the conclusion of the business session, Sharon Morrissey, Department of Community Colleges, was guest speaker. She discussed areas of interest including the proliferation of new computer curricula, the outdated standards for MST and BCP, and the affiliation of the Computer Instruction Association (CIA) and the Association of Business Chairs and Department Heads (NCCCABCDH)

The first Instructors Conference was held in Greensboro, NC, on October 18, 1994. Gary Shelly, a computer textbook author for Boyd & Fraser, spoke on “How Education can keep up with Technology.” This topic was especially relevant to our organization, because of our need to survive in “the shifting sands of computer technology.”

Published on  February 25th, 2019